All tests

Did you know

Save questionQuestion savedSaveSaved

Free Colorado CDL General Knowledge Test 2024 | CO

Part of mandatory Entry-Level Driver Training Course Based on 2024 CO commercial driver's license manualAvailable in EN, ES
10mistakes allowed
80%passing score

Today, you will have an opportunity to test the knowledge you’ve learned from studying the Colorado Commercial Driver License Manual. From proper emergency equipment to drunk driving laws and backing procedures, you’ll be able to answer questions modeled closely on those from the real exam. Each of the 50 questions has multiple answers to choose from, as well as a hint and explanation. Reading the explanation can help you answer more questions about the topic on your real exam day, so read carefully. Good luck, and remember, practice makes perfect, so keep trying until you get that perfect score!

4.35 out of 5 • 185 votes.

Perfect for

  • First-time CO CDL and CLP applicants
  • CDL holders adding endorsements
  • CO CDL renewal applicants
CO commercial driver's license

What to expect on the actual CO DMV exam

How many questions50
How many correct answers to pass40
Passing score80%

Unlock all 1,500+ exam-like questions for Colorado. Pass Guarantee

Become a member to unlock our extensive library of 1,500+ exam-like questions and get your Colorado ELDT certification online. Official FMCSA-approved national Entry-Level Driver Training provider.

Pass the first time, guaranteed Driving-Tests program displayed on a laptop

Colorado CDL License FAQs in 2024

What are the requirements for a CDL license?

To get a CDL license in Colorado, you need to obtain a commercial learner's permit (CLP) by passing knowledge tests. Hold the CLP for at least 14 days before taking the skills test. You also need to meet age, medical, and residency requirements. CDL training, while not mandatory, is highly recommended.

What is the cost of getting a CDL?

The cost for a CDL in Colorado includes a $16.80 fee for the CLP and varying fees for the skills test, typically around $275. The CDL license fee is $35. Additional costs for medical exams and training programs vary.

What disqualifies you from getting a CDL?

In Colorado, disqualifications include major traffic offenses like DUIs or reckless driving, criminal convictions involving motor vehicles, and failing the medical examination required for CDL holders.

How long does it take to get a CDL?

The time to get a CDL in Colorado varies. After holding a CLP for 14 days, the duration depends on your readiness and the length of any CDL training program you choose to enroll in.

How many times can you fail the CDL test?

In Colorado, you can retake the CDL test if you fail, but after two failed attempts, additional fees will be required for subsequent tests. There is no set limit on the number of retakes.

More CO CDL General Knowledge Resources

Helpful resources

CO CDL Handbook

View the most recent (2024) official CO CDL Handbook.

Open PDF

CO CDL Practice Test App

Download our free iOS or Android app and practice for your driving test offline or on the go.

CDL Genie app

10 Things You Should Do Before Your Driving Knowledge Exam (PDF)

Many people do their best but still get to the DMV overconfident and underprepared because they fail to do some of the simple...

Open PDF
10 Things You Should Do Before Your Driving Knowledge Exam (PDF)