All tests

Did you know

Save questionQuestion savedSaveSaved

Free Rhode Island DMV Practice Test 2024 | RI

Based on 2024 RI driver's license manual Available in EN, ES, RU Instant feedback
12mistakes allowed
70%passing score

This Rhode Island DMV practice test has just been updated for May 2024 and covers 40 of the most essential road signs and rules questions directly from the official 2024 RI Driver Handbook. The state of Rhode Island requires you to pass a 25 multiple-choice question knowledge test before you can receive your learner’s permit or driver’s license. You will need to answer 80% of the questions correctly in order to receive a passing score on the knowledge test. The test will cover such topics as driving emergencies, driving skills, road signs and signals, driver’s license laws, and more. If you are under 18, the fee for a learner’s permit is $11.50. If you are over 18, the fee is $6.50. The fee for a driver’s license is $38.50 if you are over 18 and $23.50 for a provisional license if you are under 18. You may pay by cash, check money order, or credit or debit card, but there is an additional $1.50 for use of a credit card. This Rhode Island DMV practice test consists of 40 questions and requires the same passing ratio (80%) as the real knowledge test.

4.39 out of 5 • 565 votes.

Perfect for

  • Rhode Island Learner’s Permit
  • Rhode Island Driver’s License
  • RI Senior Citizens’ Refresher Test
  • RI Driver’s License Renewal.
RI DMV driver's license

What to expect on the actual RI DMV exam

How many questions40
How many correct answers to pass28
Passing score70%
Minimum age to apply for Limited Instruction Permit16

Unlock all 650+ exam-like questions for Rhode Island. Pass Guarantee

650 trickiest questions you'll likely see on the official exam cover every topic you'll be tested on, including the most challenging questions most people get wrong.

Pass the first time, guaranteed Driving-Tests program displayed on a laptop

Rhode Island Learner's Permit Test FAQs in 2024

How can I pass the permit test?

To pass the Rhode Island permit test, study the Rhode Island Driver’s Manual thoroughly. Focus on understanding road rules, traffic signs, and safe driving practices. Practice tests can also be very helpful.

How many questions are on the DMV permit test?

The Rhode Island DMV permit test consists of 25 questions. You need to answer at least 20 questions correctly to pass, which is an 80% passing score.

How do I schedule a permit test?

To schedule a permit test in Rhode Island, visit the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website or contact a DMV office. It's recommended to schedule your test in advance as slots can fill up quickly.

What is the cost of a learner's permit?

The fee for a learner's permit in Rhode Island is $11.50. This fee covers the cost of the knowledge test and the issuance of the permit.

More RI DMV Written Exam Resources

Helpful resources

RI DMV Driver's Handbook

View the most recent (2024) official RI DMV Driver's License Handbook.

Open PDF

RI DMV Practice Test App

Download our free iOS or Android app and practice for your driving test offline or on the go.

DMV Genie app

10 Things You Should Do Before Your Driving Knowledge Exam (PDF)

Many people do their best but still get to the DMV overconfident and underprepared because they fail to do some of the simple...

Open PDF
10 Things You Should Do Before Your Driving Knowledge Exam (PDF)

List of questions (classic view)

  1. Under Rhode Island law, which occupants of a vehicle must wear seat belts or suitable child restraints?
  2. Total stopping distance equals
  3. _________occurs when the front tires of your vehicle lose contact with the road surface on a wet road.
  4. What type of sign is this?
  5. Which of the following statements about turnabouts is FALSE?
  6. If other vehicles arrive at an uncontrolled intersection at the same time as you do, you must yield the right-of-way to the vehicle
  7. You have parked facing downhill on the side of the road. There is no curb. Which way should you point your front wheels?
  8. What does this sign mean?
  9. When parking on a two-way road, you must park your vehicle within ________ of the curb or right side of the road.
  10. On a multilane roadway, you must use _________ to pass other vehicles.
  11. To recover from a skid, what should you do?
  12. What does this sign indicate?
  13. The areas around your vehicle where other vehicles cannot be seen in your mirrors are known as
  14. In which of the following situations can you pass another vehicle on the right?
  15. When you are driving on a freeway, the condition in which you feel that you are going slower than your actual speed is known as
  16. This sign indicates
  17. On a freeway, _________ allows a driver exiting the freeway to slow down to a safe speed for the exit ramp.
  18. In Rhode Island, most highways have speed limits of
  19. If an emergency vehicle is approaching you with a siren and flashing lights on, you must
  20. What does this sign mean?
  21. Which of the following is NOT one of the four turnabout techniques?
  22. In Rhode Island, you must NOT park or stop your vehicle
  23. Which of the following statements regarding roadway markings is FALSE?
  24. This sign represents
  25. If you miss your exit on a highway, what should you do?
  26. What is the correct hand signal to indicate a left turn?
  27. In a roundabout, traffic circulates
  28. You must treat a flashing red signal like
  29. A steady yellow traffic light at an intersection indicates that you must
  30. If your brakes fail while you are driving, you should NOT
  31. For drivers who are at least 21 years of age, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is
  32. What does this sign mean?
  33. If an oncoming vehicle has its high beams on, you should look __________ until the vehicle has passed.
  34. To maintain a safe following distance behind the vehicle in front of you, the Rhode Island Driver's Manual recommends that you follow
  35. If another driver is tailgaiting you, the best course of action is to
  36. This sign indicates
  37. In Rhode Island, whenever you wish to turn, you must start to signal the turn at least _______ in advance.
  38. In Rhode Island, you must treat an uncontrolled intersection as
  39. To avoid a head-on collision if there is an oncoming vehicle in your lane, you should
  40. This sign indicates a parking area that is reserved for