All tests
 
 
 
 
 

Did you know

Save questionQuestion savedSaveSaved
Close

Free Minnesota DVS Permit Practice Test 2024 | MN

Based on 2024 MN driver's license manual Available in EN, ES, RU Instant feedback
40questions
8mistakes allowed
80%passing score

This Minnesota DVS practice test has just been updated for May 2024 and covers 40 of the most essential road signs and rules questions directly from the official 2024 MN Driver Handbook. Minnesota requires that you must hold a driver’s permit before moving on to a license, regardless of your age; to qualify for a driver’s permit, you’ll need to pass a written knowledge test. You’ll need to correctly answer a minimum of 32 questions to pass. You may apply for your permit once you’re 15 years old. You’ll need to pass the written exam, take a vision test, have parental consent, complete required classroom instruction, and be enrolled in a behind-the-wheel instruction course. Once you are 16 or older and you’ve completed at least six months with your permit, or three months if you’re over 18, you may apply for a provisional license. Your written test will cost $12 and includes two attempts; after that, it will be an additional $10 per retesting. Make sure you’re able to pass on your first attempt by using this Minnesota DVS practice test.

4.3 out of 5 • 6248 votes.

Perfect for

  • Minnesota Learner’s Permit
  • Minnesota Driver’s License
  • MN Senior Citizens’ Refresher Test
  • MN Driver’s License Renewal.
MN DVS driver's license

What to expect on the actual MN DVS exam

How many questions40
How many correct answers to pass32
Passing score80%
Minimum age to apply for Class D Instruction Permit15

Unlock all 650+ exam-like questions for Minnesota. Pass Guarantee

650 trickiest questions you'll likely see on the official exam cover every topic you'll be tested on, including the most challenging questions most people get wrong.

Pass the first time, guaranteed Driving-Tests program displayed on a laptop

Essential FAQs for the Minnesota Learner's Permit Test in 2024

Is online testing available for the Minnesota permit test?

In Minnesota, the permit test can be taken online through authorized third-party testing services, in addition to in-person testing at DMV offices.

How do I obtain a learner's permit in Minnesota?

To get a learner's permit in Minnesota, you must be at least 15 years old, complete a driver’s education course, pass a vision test, and successfully answer the written knowledge test questions.

What topics are covered in the Minnesota permit test?

The Minnesota permit test includes questions on road rules, traffic laws, road signs, and safe driving practices.

Is the Minnesota permit test considered difficult?

The difficulty of the Minnesota permit test varies per individual. Success often depends on the amount of study and preparation, including thorough review of the Minnesota Driver’s Manual and practice tests.

What happens after failing the permit test three times in Minnesota?

If you fail the permit test in Minnesota three times, you may be required to wait a certain period before retaking the test. It’s recommended to check with the local DMV for specific guidelines.

What is the cost of the permit test in Minnesota?

The cost for taking the permit test in Minnesota is around $13.25, but it's advisable to verify the current fee on the Minnesota DMV website or by contacting a local DMV office.

More MN DVS Written Exam Resources

Helpful resources

MN DVS Driver's Handbook

View the most recent (2024) official MN DVS Driver's License Handbook.

Open PDF

MN DVS Practice Test App

Download our free iOS or Android app and practice for your driving test offline or on the go.

DMV Genie app

10 Things You Should Do Before Your Driving Knowledge Exam (PDF)

Many people do their best but still get to the DMV overconfident and underprepared because they fail to do some of the simple...

Open PDF
10 Things You Should Do Before Your Driving Knowledge Exam (PDF)

List of questions (classic view)

  1. Minnesota's basic speed law requires you to drive _________ under existing conditions.
  2. When you wish to change lanes or make a turn, you must _________ to inform other motorists of your intentions.
  3. When a vehicle is properly parallel parked, its wheels on the curb side must be positioned
  4. What does this sign mean?
  5. On urban or town roads, the legal speed limit under ideal driving conditions is _______ unless traffic signs indicate otherwise.
  6. Never pass on a curve or hill where you cannot clearly see the road ahead for
  7. When making a right turn, look right and left, yield the right-of-way, and turn the steering wheel with
  8. What does this sign indicate?
  9. Backing up is not allowed on freeways or expressways EXCEPT for
  10. While driving a car equipped with airbags, do not place your hands on the steering wheel at __________ positions.
  11. What must you do when you approach or pass a stopped emergency vehicle with its lights flashing on a road with two lanes in your direction?
  12. What does this sign mean?
  13. You are more likely to survive a car crash if you use _________ together.
  14. When passing another vehicle, you must
  15. Anyone who flees a police officer using a motor vehicle may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than
  16. What does this sign mean?
  17. Which of the following activities is illegal for provisional license holders to perform on their cell phones while driving?
  18. When you see a school bus stopped with its red lights flashing and its stop arm extended, you must _________ unless it is stopped on the opposite side of a separated (divided) roadway.
  19. When two vehicles reach an intersection at the same time and there is no traffic light or signal there,
  20. What does this sign mean?
  21. When another driver is trying to pass you, you should
  22. You are in an intersection. An emergency vehicle displaying flashing red lights and sounding a siren or bell is approaching. What should you do?
  23. You must maintain a safe distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you by using
  24. What does this sign mean?
  25. If a pedestrian is in a marked or unmarked crosswalk, you must
  26. On a level highway, it takes _________ longer to pass a commercial vehicle than to pass a passenger car.
  27. When you see a reflective triangular sign on the rear of a vehicle, you should
  28. What does this sign mean?
  29. A dashed (broken) white line next to your lane means that you can
  30. An __________ is the connection of a freeway to a road or another freeway through a series of ramps.
  31. If you are driving slower than other traffic on a highway or freeway, stay in the lane
  32. What does this sign indicate?
  33. At night, when you are within 1,000 feet of an oncoming vehicle or following another vehicle within 200 feet, you must
  34. At the end of most entrance ramps on a freeway, you will find _________ that allows you to increase your speed.
  35. If you are towing a camper or trailer, you must maintain a following distance of at least _________ from other vehicles.
  36. This hand signal indicates that the driver intends to
  37. Partial hydroplaning of a typical passenger car can start at speeds as low as
  38. If a blind pedestrian is waiting at a crosswalk with a white cane or a guide dog,
  39. A center lane between opposing lanes of traffic may be designated for
  40. If you see a steady yellow light as you approach an intersection, you must