All tests

Did you know

Save questionQuestion savedSaveSaved

Free Nebraska DMV Permit Practice Test 2024 | NE

Based on 2024 NE driver's license manual Available in EN, ES, RU Instant feedback
8mistakes allowed
80%passing score

This Nebraska DMV practice test has just been updated for May 2024 and covers 40 of the most essential road signs and rules questions directly from the official 2024 NE Driver Handbook. The written knowledge test (“permit test“) for Nebraska consists of 25 multiple-choice questions. You’ll need to answer 20 of the 25 questions correctly to pass. The written test is required for those who are applying for a permit that have not completed an approved driver safety course. Questions on the written test will cover everything from road signs to speed limits to seatbelt laws. Nebraska has several permits, starting with a School Learner’s Permit and School Permit that you may qualify for if you’re at least 14 years of age, live in a town with a population under 5,000, and need to be able to drive yourself to school. The Learner’s Permit is for those 15 years of age or older to practice driving with a supervising adult, and the Provisional Operator’s License is available once you’re 16 years old and allows you to drive unsupervised between 6 a.m. and midnight. When you’re ready to go to the DMV to take your written test, remember to bring ID, two ways to verify your address, your social security number, parental consent if you’re 18 years of age or younger, the $10.50 fee for a School Permit or Learner’s Permit, or $17.50 for a Provisional Operator’s Permit, and a licensed driver over 21 to accompany you. Use this DMV practice test to help you study for your written exam.

4.28 out of 5 • 726 votes.

Perfect for

  • Nebraska Learner’s Permit
  • Nebraska Driver’s License
  • NE Senior Citizens’ Refresher Test
  • NE Driver’s License Renewal.
NE DMV driver's license

What to expect on the actual NE DMV exam

How many questions25
How many correct answers to pass20
Passing score80%
Minimum age to apply for School Learner's Permit14

Unlock all 650+ exam-like questions for Nebraska. Pass Guarantee

650 trickiest questions you'll likely see on the official exam cover every topic you'll be tested on, including the most challenging questions most people get wrong.

Pass the first time, guaranteed Driving-Tests program displayed on a laptop

Nebraska Learner's Permit Test FAQs in 2024

What are effective study methods for the learner's permit test?

To prepare for the Nebraska learner's permit test, study the Nebraska Driver's Manual carefully and consider taking practice tests to become familiar with the test format and question types.

What are the rules for holding a learner's permit?

In Nebraska, with a learner's permit, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. If you are under 16, the supervising driver should be a parent, guardian, or a licensed driver approved by your parent or guardian.

What does the DMV require for the driver's test?

For the Nebraska driver's test, you need to provide a vehicle in good condition, proof of insurance, and registration for the vehicle. You must also have a learner's permit and, if under 18, proof of completion of a driver safety course.

How many times can I fail the permit test?

In Nebraska, there is no specific limit on the number of times you can fail the permit test. However, after each failed attempt, it's advisable to study more before retaking the test.

Can I get a driver's license at 18 without a prior permit?

Yes, in Nebraska, you can apply for a driver's license at 18 without having previously held a learner's permit. You must pass the written knowledge test, a vision test, and the driving skills test.

Am I allowed to drive with a learner's permit?

With a learner's permit in Nebraska, you can drive as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old. For permit holders under 16, the supervising driver must be a parent, guardian, or an approved licensed driver.

More NE DMV Written Exam Resources

Helpful resources

NE DMV Driver's Handbook

View the most recent (2024) official NE DMV Driver's License Handbook.

Open PDF

NE DMV Practice Test App

Download our free iOS or Android app and practice for your driving test offline or on the go.

DMV Genie app

10 Things You Should Do Before Your Driving Knowledge Exam (PDF)

Many people do their best but still get to the DMV overconfident and underprepared because they fail to do some of the simple...

Open PDF
10 Things You Should Do Before Your Driving Knowledge Exam (PDF)

List of questions (classic view)

  1. If you see a yield sign,
  2. Work zone signs are
  3. A broken yellow line alongside a solid yellow line indicates that
  4. What does a pennant-shaped sign indicate?
  5. Rumble strips are intended to alert drowsy or inattentive drivers through vibration and sound that they are
  6. In a roundabout, traffic circulates
  7. When approaching a stopped emergency vehicle or road assistance vehicle, which of the following should you NOT do?
  8. What does this sign indicate?
  9. When approaching a pedestrian using a white cane or guide dog, you must _________ until the person is well away from the roadway or path of travel.
  10. The maximum speed limit _________ is 25 mph unless otherwise posted.
  11. Nebraska law requires you to signal at least _________ before turning or moving right or left.
  12. This sign is found on the rear of
  13. When you parallel park your vehicle, you must stop _________ the curb or road's edge.
  14. If you must stop at a railroad crossing that lacks a stop line, stop __________ from the nearest rail.
  15. If you miss your exit on an interstate highway, you should
  16. What does this highway sign indicate?
  17. The minimum speed on an interstate highway is
  18. When approaching another vehicle from the front or rear at night, you should use
  19. When meeting or overtaking a school bus with its overhead amber warning lights flashing, you must
  20. This sign indicates that the parking spaces are reserved for
  21. A person applying for a school learner's permit (LPE) must be at least
  22. No-Zones are areas around trucks or buses
  23. You must allow a minimum _________ following distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front of you.
  24. These freeway signs are called
  25. If you park facing uphill next to a curb, point your front wheels
  26. If an oncoming vehicle's headlights are blinding you, you should
  27. Under Nebraska's Occupant Protection law, who must wear a safety belt or suitable child restraint?
  28. What does this figure indicate?
  29. A double solid yellow line separates two lanes of traffic
  30. If you are being passed by another vehicle, you should
  31. If two vehicles reach an intersection with no stop signs or traffic signals at approximately the same time,
  32. This sign may be used to
  33. You must dim your headlights when following another vehicle within
  34. When driving a vehicle equipped with airbags, you should keep your hands on the steering wheel at
  35. Which of the following statements about blood alcohol concentration (BAC) are true?
  36. This sign warns drivers that
  37. If your vehicle stalls on a railroad crossing, what should you do?
  38. To exit a freeway, enter _________ before you start to slow down.
  39. In fog, travel on roadways with posted speeds of 40 mph or higher is NOT recommended when visibility is
  40. What does this sign mean?