|How many questions:||25|
|How many correct answers to pass:||18|
|Minimum age to apply for Class D Learner's Permit (Junior Operator License)||16|
The written knowledge test to get a learner’s permit and driver’s license in Massachusetts is a timed test consisting of 25 multiple-choice questions. Questions for the test are based on information pulled from the 2019 Massachusetts Driver’s Manual. You’ll have 25 minutes to correctly answer at least 18 of the 25 questions to pass and receive your permit. Massachusetts law requires you to be at least 16 to test and apply for your permit. The test is offered on an automated testing system, in both English and Spanish, without an appointment, and for a $30 testing fee. In addition to passing the test, in order to get your permit, you’ll need to provide proof of identity, state residency, and signature, as well as a completed application form with parental signature if you’re a minor. When you’re paying for the permit test, you can also pay for your future driving test at the same time. Once you have your learner’s permit, you’ll be required to complete a driver’s education program if you’re under 18, and complete 40 hours of supervised driving. Use this RMV practice test to help you study for your knowledge exam.Rating: 4.5 out of 5 based on 197 votes.